Entertainment Television

Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah Cast and Characters

Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah is one of the most popular and longest running comedy series on Indian television. The show started on 28th July 2008 and became a household name almost instantly.

It airs on SAB TV which is known to telecast many comedy serials but none has achieved as much appreciation as this one.

Sab TV Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah Cast

Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah Cast and Characters

Courtesy: SAB TV

The show is based on the column, Duniya ne Undha Chashma that featured in Chitralekha, a Gujrati weekly magazine. The comic series was written by columnist and humorist, Taarak Janubhai Mehta.

The show revolves around the lives of eight families residing in a housing society named, Gokuldham Society. All the characters in the show are simple yet humorous.

Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah characters

Here is a look at the cast and characters of Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah.

List of Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah characters.

Jethalal Champaklal Gada Real NameDilip Joshi
Daya Jethalal Gada Real NameDisha Vakani
Tipendra Jethalal Gada/Tappu Real NameRaj Anadkat
Taarak Mehta Real NameShailesh Ladha
Champaklal Jayantilal Gada/Babuji Real NameAmit Bhatt
Anjali Taarak Mehta Real NameNeha Mehta
Krishnan Subramaniam Iyer Real NameTanuj Mahashabde
Babita Krishnan Iyer Real NameMunmun Dutta
 Aatmaram Tukaram Bhide Real NameMandal Chandwadkar
Madhvi Aatmaram Bhide Real NameSonalika Joshi
Sonalika Atmaram Bhide/Sonu Real NameNidhi Bhanushali
Sardar Roshan Singh Harjeet Singh Sodhi/Sodhi Real NameGurucharan Singh
 Roshan Kaur Roshan Singh Sodhi Real NameJennifer Mistry Bansiwal
Gurucharan Singh Roshan Singh Sodhi/Gogi Real NameSamay Shah
Dr. Hansraj Hathi Real NameAzad Kavi
Komal Hansraj Hathi Real NameAmbika Ranjankar
Gulabkumar Hansraj Hathi/Goli Real NameKush Shah
 Patrakar Popatlal Pandey Real NameShyam Pathak
Abdul Real NameSharad Sankla
Inspector Chaloo Pandey Real NameDaya Shankar Pandey
Pinku Real NameTarun Uppal
Sundarlal Real NameMayur Vakani
Natwarlal Prabhashankar Udhaiwala Real NameGhanshyam Nayak
Bagheshwar Dadukh Udhaiwala Real NameTanmay Vekaria
Bawree Dhondulal Kanpuria Real NameMonika Bhadouria
Rita Shrivastava (Reporter) Real NamePriya Ahuja Rajda
Tingya/Teja Real NameKaustubh Pile

Dilip Joshi

Dilip Joshi plays the character of Jethalal Champaklal Gada in the show. His is one of the main characters in the serial. Jethalal runs an electronics shop. Joshi has been a part of the serial ever since its inception.

His performance has been appreciated time and again. He even won the Indian Television Academy Award for Best Actor- Comedy in the year, 2012 and 2014. Star Guild Award for Best Actor in Drama Series was awarded to him in 2011.

Disha Vakani

She played the role of the comic, Dayaben Gada. Wife of Jethalal, Dayaben is one of the most loved characters of the serial. She won several awards for her performance in the show.

She received the Indian Telly Award for the Best Actor in a Comic Role (Female) in 2009, Indian Telly Award for the Most Popular Actor in Comic Role (Female) in 2010, Indian Telly Award for Best Actress in a Comic Role in 2012 and Indian Television Academy Award for Best Actress – Comedy in 2008 and 2014.

Disha had been a part of the show since the beginning. She left it in 2017.

Bhavya Gandhi

He played the part of Tipendra Jethalal Gada aka Tapu, son of Jethalal and Dayaben. He left the show in 2017.

Raj Anadkat

He plays the part of Tapu, currently. He became a part of the show in 2017 after Bhavya Gandhi’s exit.

Amit Bhatt

Amit Bhatt plays the role of Champaklal Jayantilal Gada. Champaklal is Jethalal’s father. He fits well in his character and is loved for his comic timing.

Mayur Vakani

He plays the part of Dayaben’s brother, Sundarlal. He visits Jethalal’s house frequently and adds to the fun. The interesting part if that Disha Vakani and Mayur Vakani are siblings in real life too.

Sailesh Lodha

Sailesh Lodha is seen as Taarak Mehta in the show. He plays the part of one of the main characters as well the narrator of the show. He has been a part of the show since beginning.

Neha Mehta

Neha plays the part of Tarak Mehta’s wife, Anjali Mehta.

Mandar Chandwadkar

Mandar Chandwadkar plays the interesting role of Aatmaram Tukaram Bhide.

Sonalika Joshi

She plays the part of Atmaram Bhide’s wife, Madhvi.

Jheel Mehta

The child star played the part of Sonalika Aatmaram Bhide aka Sonu. She left the show in 2012.

Nidhi Bhanushali

Jheel Mehta was replaced by Nidhi Bhanushali who played the part of Sonu from 2012 to 2019.

Palak Sidhwani

Palak plays the part of Sonalika Aatmaram Bhide currently. She replaced Nidhi Bhanushali recently.

Tanuj Mahashabde

He plays the role of Jethalal’s neighbour, Krishnan Subramaniam Iyer.

Munmun Dutta

The beautiful Munmun Dutta plays the part of Babita Iyer in the serial. Babita is the wife of Krishnan Subramaniam Iyer.

Gurcharan Singh

He plays the comic character, Roshan Singh Harjeet Singh Sodhi.

Jennifer Mistry Bansiwal

The beautiful Jennifer Mistry plays the part of Mrs. Roshan Sodhi. She went of the show for around three years. She resumed the role in 2016.

Dilkhush Reporter

She played the part of Roshan Kaur Roshan Singh Sodhi from 2013 to 2016.

Samay Shah

Samay Shah plays the character of Gogi, Roshan Singh’s son.

Kavi Kumar Azad

Kavi Kumar Azad played the character of Dr. Hansraj Hathi. He played the part from 2009 to 2018.

Nirmal Soni

Nirmal Soni played the part of Dr. Hansraj Hathi in 2008 and 2009. He was signed to portray the character yet again in 2018. He plays the part currently.

Ambika Ranjankar

She plays the role of Komal Hansraj Hathi in the serial.

Kush Shah

Kush Shah plays the character of Gulabkumar Hansraj Hathi aka Goli, the son of Dr. Hansraj Hathi and Komal Hathi.

Ghanshyam Nayak

Ghanshyam Nayak plays the part of Natwarlal Prabhashankar Udhaiwala aka Nattu Kaka. He works in Jethalal’s shop. He has been associated with the show since the beginning.

Tanmay Vekaria

He plays the part of Bagheshwar Dadukh Uhaiwala better known as Bagha. Tanmay is Natu Kaka’s nephew. He also works at Jethalal’s shop.

Shyam Pathak

He plays the role of Patrakar Popatlal Pandey.

Sharad Sankla

Sharad Sankla plays the role of Abdul in the serial.

Azhar Shaikh

He is seen playing the character of Pankaj Diwan Sahay aka Pinku.

Priya Ahuja

She plays the part of Rita Reporter. She has featured in many episodes.

Daya Shankar Pandey

He plays the part of Inspector Chalu Pandey.

Monika Bhadoriya

She plays the part of Bawri Dhondula Kanpuria aka Bawri

All these characters have been portrayed brilliantly. They have made the show come alive. Apart from these, many other television actors have got a chance to make a guest appearance on the show.

Taarak Mehta Ka Ooltah Chashmah is definitely one of my favourite Indian comedy shows of all times. Do you enjoy it too?

Spread the love

About the author

Shailja Sharma

Shailja is a post graduate in English Literature. Writing comes naturally to her and she is content doing what she does best - writing and editing. An avid reader, a nature lover and a travel enthusiast are some of the other terms that describe her.